, am enrolling in the Emergency Medical Technician Basic program provided by Orange County EMT. I understand the course requirements set forth by Orange County EMT and the procedures to obtain an EMT 1 license through the State of California and Orange County EMS. I understand that this course is 212 hours, and that I must achieve an 70% on the Final Exam along with successfully completing all skills required by the state with a passing score in order to achieve course completion. I understand that only after receiving a course completion I am eligible to take the National Registry Exam, which I must successfully pass in order to apply for a County EMT 1 License. This Enrollment Agreement is valid for a period from the first day of class
through the last day of class
. I acknowledge that this Enrollment Agreement is legally binding when signed by the student and accepted by ORANGE COUNTY EMT.
COURSE FEE- $1,400
DEPOSIT/REGISTRATION FEE- $500 ENROLLMENT FEE REQUIRED TO ENROLL IN THE COURSE WITH THE BALANCE TO BE PAID IN FULL ON OR BEFORE THE FIRST DAY OF CLASS AND NO MORE THAN TWO WEEKS (14) DAYS AFTER THE COURSE START DATE UNLESS ENROLLED IN A PAYMENT CONTRACT
Schedule of Charges
THE COURSE FEE OF $1,400 COVERS THE PERIOD OF ATTENDANCE AND IS EQUIVALENT TO THE ENTIRE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM. THERE IS A $500 DOLLAR ENROLLMENT FEE WHICH IS DUE AT SIGNING AND IS DEDUCTED FROM THE TOTAL FEE OF THE CLASS.
STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND: Non-Refundable ($0.00 per $1,000 institutional charge)
Students are responsible for any fee’s charged by the National Registry, State of California EMS, County EMS for licensure, and DOJ Live Scan Background.
If the student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund.
Reference: COE Standard 7: Criteria 17-21
Orange County EMT has established a fair and equitable refund policy for the refund of tuition, fees, and other institutional charges in the event a course is cancelled, a student does not enter the course in which they enrolled, or does not complete the period of enrollment for which the student has been charged.
Notify Administration of your intention to drop Course through email, writing, phone, or in person
Administration will confirm your request to drop has been received.
The date of confirmation will start the Refund period.
Refund amounts will be issued per the Criteria listed below
Refunds will be issued through Paypal or by check to the address listed at the time of enrollment
Refunds, when due, must be made without requiring a request from the student
Refunds, when due, shall be made within 45 days:
(1) of the last day of attendance if written notification of withdrawal has been provided to OCEMT by the student
(2) from the date Orange County EMT terminates the student or determines withdrawal by the student.
Retention of tuition and fees collected in advance for a student who does not commence class shall not exceed $100.
Refunds for Classes Canceled by Orange County EMT:
If tuition and fees are collected in advance of the start date of a program and the institution
cancels the class, 100% of the tuition and fees collected must be refunded. The refund shall be made within 45 days of the planned start date.
Refunds for Students Who Withdraw On or Before the First Day of Class:
If tuition and fees are collected in advance of the start date of classes and the student
does not begin classes or withdraws on the first day of classes, no more than
$100 of the tuition and fees may be retained by the institution. Appropriate refunds
for a student who does not begin classes shall be made within 45 days of the class start date.
Refunds for Students Enrolled Prior to Visiting the Institution:
Students who have not visited the school facility prior to enrollment will have the opportunity
to withdraw without penalty within three days following either attendance at a regularly scheduled
orientation or following a tour of the facilities and inspection of the equipment.
Orange County EMT Refund Policy for Withdrawal After Course Commences:
During the first 10% of the period of financial obligation, the institution shall refund at least 90% of the tuition. (Class days 1 & 2)
After the first 10% of the period of financial obligation and until the end of the first 25% of the
period of obligation, the institution shall refund at least 50% of the tuition. (Class Days 3-5)
After the first 25% of the period of financial obligation and until the end of the first 50% of the period of obligation, the institution shall refund at least 25% of the tuition; (Class Days 6-10)
After the first 50% of the period of financial obligation, the institution may retain all of the tuition.
(Class Days 11-22)
Financial Aid- OCEMT does not offer financial aid, but will set up payment contracts for those who need assistance
“A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589, or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the Bureau’s Internet Web “www.bppe.ca.gov”
To file a complaint with OCEMT follow grievance procedures below;
If you feel that your rights have been violated
Informal Process- Notify instructor and or Administrative Faculty
(a) If Unresolved, File a formal complaint
Formal Process- Send a written complaint to the Chief Academic Officer
(a) If Unresolved, Formal Process continues
Investigation/Decision- OCEMT will investigate grievance & respond within 2 weeks of receiving a formal complaint
(a) If Unresolved, file appeal within 5 days of the decision
Appeal to Board of Trustee- Send a written appeal to OCEMT Board of Trustees through the Program Director
(a) a decision will be given to the student within 30 days of receiving the written complaint
(b) If Unresolved, send a written complaint to the BPPE
Appeal to the Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education
“Any questions a student may have regarding this enrollment agreement that have not been satisfactorily answered by the Institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education.”
Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education: 2535 Capitol Oaks Dr. Suite 400, Sacramento CA 95833
Toll Free (888) 370-7589, Fax (916) 263-1896, Web: www.bppe.ca.gov
Student Tuition Recovery Fund- STRF
“You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all of the following applies to you:
You are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all of part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, or personal loans, and Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party. You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment if either of the following applies:
You are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or other payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party.” “The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California residents, or are enrolled in a residency program attending certain schools regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education.
You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:
The school closed before the course of instruction was completed.
The school’s failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license fees or any other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was collected within 180 days before the closure of the school.
The school’s failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to closure in excess of tuition and other costs.
There was a material failure to comply with the Act or the Division within 30-days before the school closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30-days prior to closure, the period determined by the Bureau.
An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment against the institution for a violation of the Act.”
* However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number
Student Right to Cancel-
Students have a right to cancel and obtain a refund of charges paid through the first day of attendance or 7th day after enrollment, whichever is greater, minus the $350 dollar enrollment fee. If a student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of moneys not paid from federal student financial aid program funds.
Received Documents Prior to Signing Statement-
“I certify that I have received the catalog, School Performance Fact Sheet, and information regarding completion rates, placement rates, license examination passage rates, and salary or wage information included in the School performance Fact sheet, and have signed, initialed, and dated the information provided in the School Performance Fact Sheet.”
Enrollment Agreement Cancellation Procedure-
A student requesting cancellation of their Enrollment Agreement must do so verbally and in writing to the Course Director or Chief Academic Officer of OCEMT, within 1 week of signing the contract. The student will then sign a “Cancellation of Enrollment” form which will be stored with the student’s original Agreement.
A student dropping the course will receive a refund only if they meet the refund criteria listed in this Enrollment Agreement.
Loans Guaranteed By the Government-
“If the student is eligible for a loan guaranteed by the federal or state government and the student defaults on the loan, both of the following may occur.
The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against the student, including applying any income tax refund to which the person is entitled to reduce the balance owed on the loan.
The student may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid at another institution or other government assistance until the loan is repaid
“Any questions a student may have regarding this enrollment agreement that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at:
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
2535 Capital Oaks Drive, Suite 400, CA 95833
Phone Number: (916) 431-6959
Toll Free: (888) 370-7589
Fax: (916) 263-1896
“A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau of Private Postsecondary by calling (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s Internet Website www.bppe.ca.gov
“I understand that this is a legally binding contract. My signature below certifies that I have read, understood and agreed to my rights and responsibilities, and that the institutions cancellation and refund policies have been clearly explained to me.”
OCEMT Course Director: